January Question

I am re-reading the entire Recluce saga, this time chronologically, and I have always wondered why the city of Fairhaven was renamed Fairven and finally Frven as time passed? It seems to be the only city whose name changed throughout the series.

Actually, the name of the city never changed, not while it was a city filled with living, breathing people.  What changed was what people called it after its ruination. The name was shortened to Fairven and then Frven because it was passed on largely by oral tradition.  Justen, in The Magic of Recluce, refers to it as Fairhaven because he knows its name, which might just be another tip-off about Justen, but most people just know it as an old and bad place to avoid.

8 thoughts on “January Question”

  1. Larry says:

    I am wondering if you could give me the chronological order of the Recluce Saga. I love the series and would like to re-read in order.

    1. I’ve sent a copy to your email address.

  2. Gregg Hagerty says:

    Can I also get a copy of the chonological order for the Recluse Saga? I have re-read the series many times and feel that the following order is correct, but am not sure about the books regarding Rahl.

    Magi’i of Cyador
    Scion of Cyador
    Fall of Angels
    The Chaos Balance
    Arms Commander
    The Towers of Sunset
    The White Order
    The Magic Engineer
    Colors of Chaos
    Natural Ordermage
    Mage-Guard of Hamor
    The Order War
    Wellspring of Chaos
    The Magic of Recluse
    The Death of Chaos

    Thanks, Gregg.

    1. Your order is correct. I’ve emailed you a copy with dates.

  3. Mike says:

    Gregg, Thank you for supplying the chronological order of the Recluce Saga. I am a new reader to Modesitt and have begun w/ reading the Magic of Recluce and then Towers of Sunset and couldn’t understand why the time table was so skewed. Mr. Modesitt, perhaps you could change the order shown in the books section of your site? It would really be helpful to new readers such as myself. I am enjoying your writting style and look forward to continuing my ‘reading journey’ in Recluce.

    1. It all depends on your viewpoint. This is a discussion that has been on-going for more than a decade. The order shown in the books section is the publication order, and that is the order that explains Recluce the best, but it is also the order that “upsets” people who want to read in “chronological” order. Since I cannot please everyone, I’ve left the order as publication order.

  4. Barb says:

    Could i also get chornological order for the Recluce series? It would be great if you could publish it as a timeline with some sort of dating, such as you have for the dates for the different manuals.

    1. The chronological order is listed above.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.